We love stories about your Optimist Club. Please tell us one and we'll add it to the website.
Click here or email. Don't forget to add a picture!

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Future leaders step forward

About 70 Optimist Club members gathered in Salem, Oregon for the Third Quarter District Meeting on April 29-30. More details from the meeting, including our Oratorical and Communications Contests results,  will be published later this week, but we wanted to post a quick update on one of the major business items of the weekend: Lieutenant Governor-elect Elections.

Unanimously elected to join Bill French and the 2011-2012 district leadership team are:
Zone 1 - Mansuralli Lalani (Vancouver BC North Shore)
Zone 2 - Wilf Lowdell (Chilliwack)
Zone 3 - Paul DeMars (Issaquah)
Zone 4 - Monte Akers (Hillsboro)
Zone 5 - Steve Enyeart (Vancouver, WA)
Zone 6 - Rheanna Mosier (Roseburg)
Zone 7 - Anita Welchel (Caldwell)
Zone 8 - Susan Thompson (Meridian)
Zone 9 - Chris Stearns (Twin Falls)
Zone 10 - Shaun Daggett (LaGrande)
The Candidate Qualifications report advised the assembly that one qualified individual has announced their intention to seek the the office of Governor-elect: Larry Blackburn, Lt. Governor Zone 7 and Immediate Past Honor and Distinguished President of the Caldwell Optimist Club.

To be elected governor-elect, candidates must have completed a term of club president and lieutenant governor. It is a self-nominating process. Letters of interest should be sent to Linda Jackson.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...